Certificate Only

Have you got Cranes unit standards and want the qualification?
You can now apply to have your cranes units awarded to a New Zealand Certificate. You will need to provide confirmation from your employer that you have the competencies to gain the qualification.

What you need to do:

  • New Zealand Certificate in Cranes (Level 3) with strands in:
    • Dogman
    • Cab Controlled Overhead Crane
    • Self-Erecting Tower Crane
    • Truck Loader Crane
    • Pendant-Controlled Overhead Crane
  • New Zealand Certificate in Cranes (Level 4) with strands in:
    • Advanced Dogman
    • Crawler Crane
    • Mini Crane
    • Mobile Crane
    • Non-Slewing Articulated Crane
    • Tower Crane.

Check you meet the entry requirements and that all unit standards are on your NZQA Record of Learning.

You must hold all the units required for the qualification you are applying for.  These are listed under the entry requirements.

You are now ready to submit your application to EarnLearn for the Certificate Only process. You will need to complete and submit the below documents to EarnLearn via

  1. Training agreement
  2. Application form for Certificate award
  3. Employer Attestation forms
  4. Payment.

Please ensure you have made payment prior to submitting your application. Please follow this link to make your online payment Making Payments – (EarnLearn | Te Pūkenga)

If you are paying by credit card then please add ‘cranes cert’ in your reference.

Should you prefer payment via an invoice then please email us on

EarnLearn will then:

  1. Process your application.
  2. Award the qualification to successful applicants.


  • The current processing time is 30 working days. If you do not hear from us after a month, please contact to follow up on your application.
  • Certificates will be posted to the applicant.